Day 1 – The Journey Begins

4:15 a.m. Alarm goes off. I’m awake. Today is the first day of my personal health and fitness challenge. For once I didn’t hit snooze and forced myself to go to the gym (in my building) where I did the following:

15 minutes on the “Spin” bike – I’m really trying to love this but truth is, I hate it
75 minutes on the treadmill – a mix between walking, jogging, running, and sprinting at various inclines

Total workout time = 90 minutes (1.5 hours)
Total burned = 600 calories

My goal is to work out six times per week and burn 600 calories each session. This will equal 3,600 calories per week, which is just over one pound (3,500 calories = 1 pound). In theory, this alone should get me to my goal weight by June 30, 2013 (1 pound per week x 26 weeks = 26 pounds).

Even more important then fitness is how many calories I am consuming each day. I will not be following any sort of “fad diet”, such as no carbs, juicing, only veggies, etc. This is a lifestyle change, not a “lose weight quick” scheme. My diet will consist of fresh fruit, vegetables, lean proteins, good fats, and whole grains. I am eliminating alcohol (except on certain occasions) and really going to cut back on dining out.

I will stop looking at food as a “reward” (i.e. I worked out every day this week so I can pig out on cheeseburgers and fries this weekend). If I feel the need to “cheat”, I will allow myself a “cheat meal” as opposed to a “cheat day”. My cheat meals will be healthier versions (i.e. turkey or veggie burger instead of beef, salad instead of fries, etc.) My hope is that once I start eliminating the bad food, I will no longer crave it.

Based upon my height/weight/age, I need to consume 1,555 – 1,782 calories per day to maintain my current weight. I obviously don’t want to maintain so I will create a caloric deficit of 500 calories and will not consume more than 1,200 calories per day. My caloric intake for Day 1 is as follows:

  • 140 calories: Protein shake
  • 13 calories: Teavana tea with 1/2 tsp German Rock Sugar
  • 80 calories: Medium fuji apple
  • 150 calories: Organic steel oats
  • 120 calories: 1 can of Bumble Bee chunk white albacore tuna
  • 41 calories: 1/2 medium grapefruit
  • 160 calories: 1/4 cup raw almonds
  • 90 calories: Broiled tilapia filet (with 1/2 tsp olive oil)
  • 25 calories: 12 asapargus spears
  • 45 calories: Spring mix salad with 2 TBSP balsamic vinaigrette

TOTAL CALORIC INTAKE = 864 CALORIES 

Looks like my calories were way under today. I skipped an afternoon protein shake in case I got hungry after dinner tonight, but so far I’m feeling pretty good. I’m just a little tired from getting up at 4:15 a.m. It did feel great knowing that I got my work out in for the day and I didn’t have to worry about it when I got home this evening. We’ll see how these early mornings pan out. Day 2 tomorrow…

Day 1 = SUCCESS

178 days to reach my goal…

2 thoughts on “Day 1 – The Journey Begins”

  1. Good luck on your journey, it sounds like you have an amazing plan laid out for you and that is the hardest part I find. Maybe to help you out with hitting your calorie goal for the day something I like to do is to have protein with my fruit or veggie snack. So like adding a tbsp of natural peanut butter with my apple or some hummus with my carrots, it helps get your healthy calories in, and it helps your body absorb all the goodness in your fruits and veggies.

Leave a Reply

