Day 2 – Tired

8:30 a.m. – Right now I’m feeling exhausted. I hit snooze this morning and crawled out of bed around 4:30 a.m. I went down to the gym and did mostly core workouts (planks, abs, obliques) and weights (triceps, chest press) with a little cardio mixed in (bike, treadmill). The one thing I hate about strength training is you don’t burn as many calories. After an hour and twenty minutes of working out, I only burned 300..what a rip off! This puts me halfway to my daily goal of burning 600 so I’m planning on going for a run on lunch or after work to burn the rest.

9:00 p.m. – Already in bed. I don’t remember the last time I was this tired. I ended up going for a run on my lunch to burn the extra 300 calories. Burrrr was it cold, but I did it! Going to try and get up for a work out bright and early tomorrow, but since it’s Friday, I might run on lunch again and then work out in the evening at my gym. We’ll see. Here is my food intake for Day 2:

  • 85 calories: 5 large brown egg whites
  • 55 calories: 1 slice of whole grain toast
  • 13 calories: Chai tea with german rock sugar
  • 105 calories: 1 medium banana
  • 100 calories: 1 TBSP natural peanut butter
  • 10 calories: 1 cup of coffee with dairy free powdered creamer
  • 181 calories: Chickpea, tomato and feta salad (with olive oil and lemon juice)
  • 41 calories: 1/2 grape fruit
  • 60 calories: 4 TBSP Trader Joe’s kale and spinach dip
  • 20 calories: 2 stalks of celery
  • 35 calories: 2/3 cup snow peas
  • 35 calories: 3 oz baby carrots
  • 160 calories: 1/4 cup raw almonds
  • 90 calories: Broiled tilapia filet with 1/2 tsp olive oil
  • 25 calories: 12 asparagus spears
  • 45 calories: 3 oz spring mix with 2 TBSP balsamic dressing

TOTAL CALORIC INTAKE: 1,060 CALORIES

I consumed more calories today, but I’m still under my 1,200 mark so I’m not worried. In fact, I think anything below 1,000 when working out can be dangerous so I should have consumed more yesterday. Problem is, I’m still hungry and just ate dinner. I’m trying my hardest not to eat carbs after 3:00 p.m. and those Tostito chips (my favorite) from New Years Eve are sitting on my counter staring at me. I know my cravings are going to kill me on this journey and need a way to combat them. Does anybody have any techniques they use the first few weeks while adjusting?

177 days to reach my goal…

3 thoughts on “Day 2 – Tired”

  1. Always have a big glass of water before a snack and then wait 15 minutes, if you’re still hungry then allow yourself a snack! I have 2 go to sweet & 2 salty snacks that I always have for those occasions that kill my craving but won’t ruin the day!

      1. My salty is edamame with coarse sea salt or a cup or this spicy snack mix with wasabi peas… My sweet are 1 square of sea salt chocolate or these low-cal coconut fruit bars – it’s the only thing I’ve found that works on my ice cream cravings!! But there are other flavors like lime that I like, too.

Leave a Reply

