Day 3 – Exhausted

I went to bed last night extremely tired. I slept through my alarm this morning and did not wake up until 7:00 a.m. (usually leave for work around 6:45 a.m.). I didn’t panic because traffic is light this week so I ate my breakfast, got ready, and was into the office by 8:00 a.m. At first I was feeling pretty good, but then I started to crash and felt so exhausted. I figured it was because my body is adjusting to the workouts/diet changes, but I talked to my dear friend Annie who educated me on something that I have been doing completely wrong the past two days.

Last year when I had a trainer, he told me to eat 1,200 – 1,400 calories per day to lose weight. I thought this meant TOTAL calories with fitness incorporated. As I was talking to Annie, she informed me that I should be eating 1,200 after work out. So for instance, I wake up and go to the gym and burn 600 calories. I should eat 1,800 calories that day to give me the 1,200 I need to lose the weight. Pffff boy do I feel stupid! Wednesday I woke up and burned 600 calories then only ate 864 calories the entire day. I knew this was low, but what I didn’t know is that my body thinks I only ate 264. Same thing with yesterday – consumed 1,085 calories and burned 600 so my body only thinks I had 485. No wonder I feel so tired…my body has probably gone into starvation mode and it’s manifesting through tiredness. Sheesh! I found out what I should be consuming realistically from this website. http://caloriecount.about.com/cc/calories-goal.php

I also started a Biggest Loser Program at my work today. I had 11 people in my office sign up for the 12 week program and they all paid $12.00. At the end of the competition, there will be a first, second and third place winner who split up the money pot based upon who lost the most weight percentage wise. I’m pretty excited, as I think it will help keep me motivated while helping my team. One of my teammates told me about My Fitness Pal which I’m checking out and loving. Add me! amandamrozier is my username 🙂

I was extremely hungry today so I went over my calorie allowance by 93 calories. Considering I’ve been basically starving myself the past 2 days, I’m not worried too much. 😉 I decided not to work out to take a rest and let my body recoup. I’ll wake up tomorrow, fully rested, energized, and go for a long run since I have my 10K next weekend. I’ll probably do some strength training as well. Anyhow, here is what I had today:

  • 68 calories – 4 egg whites
  • 55 calories – 1 slice whole grain toast
  • 13 calories – Chai tea with 1/2 TSP german rock sugar
  • 80 calories – 1 medium fuji apple
  • 100 calories – 1 TBSP peanut butter
  • 140 calories – 1 protein shake
  • 181 calories – Tomato, feta, chickpea salad with olive oil and lemon juice
  • 225 calories – Rotisserie chicken breast from Jewel – no skin, only breast meat (this is a guess-timate)
  • 10 calories – Amino acid energy supplement
  • 41 calories – 1/2 medium grapefruit
  • 310 calories – 2 Portobello mushroom caps stuffed with tomatoes, basil, garlic and onion – topped with buffalo mozzarella
  • 70 calories – 6 tostito corn chips (I had a craving sooooo damn bad and caved – but I only ate half of the 140 calorie serving – just to get a taste – all about satisfying in moderation, right?)

TOTAL CALORIC INTAKE – 1,293 CALORIES 

176 days to reach my goal…

Leave a Reply

