Day 4 – The Weekend

The weekends are always the hardest for me. From making dinner plans with friends to going out to the bars, weekends always derail me from my fitness goals. Drinking leads to hunger and that craving is not for a big bowl of steamed broccoli. I’m not letting this weekend get the best of me. Slept in this morning (10:30 a.m.), woke up, had some breakfast and then went to The Vitamin Shoppe to buy some Whey Protein. I ended up getting Optimum Nutrition’s Double Chocolate 100% Gold Standard Whey Protein.

Afterwards, I ran for 55 minutes and burned 622 calories – yeah! That puts me at 1,822 to consume for the day so I came home, made a protein shake and wow – it’s really good! I can’t wait to try the other flavors when this one runs out!

My best friend Cellie and I went to see “Playing for Keeps” at Brew and View. Brew and View is a movie theater here in Chicago that plays 3 movies per week. You can come for the first one and stay for all 3 that run nightly. They also serve beer, hence the name. I stayed away from the beer and liquor, which I am so proud of! I did indulge and have some popcorn, but it wasn’t your typical popcorn from a movie theater. They don’t have the butter and all the jazz that goes on it. They just pop it up in some oil and put a little salt on it. I ate half of the bag and threw the other half away (about 5 cups) so I’m slowly starting to make these conscious choices. I did have a Diet Coke, which I didn’t feel too bad about, because I don’t drink soda that often.

We then went to Starbucks and caught up, where I had a tall nonfat cappuccino. Sure beats a Peppermint Mocha calorie wise! We went to her sister’s birthday party at a karaoke bar called Trader Todds. Again, I did not drink and wow, it felt weird but great at the same time! Today I proved to myself that I can do this and it’s actually not as hard as I have always thought it to be! My goal is to not have a sip of alcohol until my sister’s 21st birthday, which is at the end of this month. 🙂 Food intake for the day is as follows:

180 calories – Steel oats (150 cals) with 1 tsp butter (15 cals), 1 tsp sugar (15 cals)
55 calories – 1 slice of whole grain toast
60 calories – 4 TBSP Trader Joes spinach and kale dip
110 calories – 5 sesame wheat crackers
5 calories – a few baby carrots (from my 35 calorie serving bag)
10 calories – Amino Acid supplement
120 calories – Protein shake
155 calories – Portobello mushroom cap stuffed with tomatoes, garlic, onion and basil – topped with buffalo mozzarella
41 calories – 1/2 medium grapefruit
13 calories – Chai tea w/1 tsp german rock sugar
275 calories – Oil popped popcorn at movies (no butter)
60 calories – Tall Starbucks nonfat cappuccino
80 calories – 1 medium fuji apple
150 calories – 1.5 tbsp natural peanut butter

TOTAL CALORIC INTAKE = 1,314 CALORIES (had 1,822 to consume post 600 calorie workout)

175 days to reach my goal…

Leave a Reply

