Day 17 – First Day of Swimming Lessons!

Wow, that a great day today was! Where do I start?

1. My Biggest Loser Team weighed in at work this morning and did awesome! I’m very proud of them and can’t wait to see how the next 10 weeks go!

2. My coworkers and I went to the gym on lunch. I did 30 minutes of running on the treadmill and 30 minutes of weights/strength training (chest and triceps) and burned 450 calories total.

3. I started swimming lessons tonight and LOVED them. Best $160.00 investment, EVER! My instructors (yes, I have 2) are great. Both are very kind and friendly, but also make sure you are doing the drills correctly. They are clothed and standing out of the water to comment on your form, technique, breathing. I thought I was going to do a lot worse than I actually did! I think my running is going to help with the swimming a lot because you have to know how to breathe. While others in my class were running out of breath and would have to stop around 10 yards, I could keep going to the end (20 yards) and back. I just need to practice kicking faster and being able to hold my head in close to my arm. I will practice a few times over the next week before class next Friday. Can’t wait! 🙂

I know I definitely burned calories swimming, but I’m not sure how many since I wasn’t hardcore swimming the entire 60 minutes. I put in 45 minutes of leisurely swimming in MyFitnessPal and it said 320 calories burned. I feel like even that is wayyyy too generous so to be safe, I’m going to go with 200 calories burned from swimming, making my total for the day 650 calories burned.

4. My favorite part of the day – I weighed myself when I got home tonight. Guess where I’m at…

153.8!!!!!!!!!

That’s 4.2 pounds down from where I started 2.5 weeks ago! I think my bloating/period DEFINITELY had to do with me not losing when I weighed in on Wednesday. And, better yet – this is in the evening when I weighed myself (i.e. after an entire day of eating/drinking fluids). I am anxious to sleep tonight and weigh myself in the morning to see where I am. If I am any less, I will definitely let you all know. I feel way better and more motivated than ever before. Looks like my hard work is paying off! The lowest I can remember ever being was 152, and that was right before I got laid off in November 2011. Again, my goal is to be 150 by January 31st and if I’m really 153.8 right now, I’m confident I can lose the next 3.8 pounds in 13 days. 🙂 Ah! Ok, with that said, I am going to list out what I ate today:

230 calories – thinkThin Brownie Crunch Protein Bar
105 calories – 1 medium banana
10 calories – hazelnut coffee w/ 1 tsp non dairy creamer
68 calories – 4 hard boiled egg whites (no yolk)
97 calories – spring mix salad (15 cals) with broccoli/carrot stalks (13 cals), broccoli (13 cals), 10 grape tomoatoes (31 cals), 2 TBSP fat free balsamic dressing (25 cals)
41 calories – 1/2 grapefruit
70 calories – 1 1/4 cup pineapple tidbits
70 calories – 1/2 cup cottage cheese
68 calories – 12 oz. non-fat cappuccino
130 calories – 1 cup of cheerios w/1 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
53 calories – 1 small fuji apple
100 calories – 1 TBSP peanut butter

Total caloric intake = 1, 042 calories (450 burned at the gym, 200 burned swimming = 1,850 allowed for the day)

I’m way under on my calorie intake, but I wasn’t able to eat between work and swimming. I only had a cappuccino so the milk would keep me full during lessons. I came home and didn’t want anything heavy because I didn’t feel super hungry so I had the cheerios, apple and peanut butter. I’m sure I’ll wake up famished tomorrow though! Anyways, I think the chlorine and all of the working out got to me because I’m exhausted. Good night!

162 days to reach my goal…

Leave a Reply

