Day 20 – Martin Luther King Jr. Day

“Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter.” Martin Luther King Jr.

I found this quote fitting for today. Yes, it it Martin Luther King Jr. Day, but it is also a quote that sounded within me for some reason. This quote can be applied to anything, but since this is my weight loss blog, what matters? My health and my happiness. Ultimately, if I am silent and ignore my health (and by health I mean physical activity and eating habits), my life will begin to end. It’s a destructive path, and I am so thankful that I have taken on this challenge before it was too late (putting on more weight, getting older and not as easy to lose the weight, etc.). I challenge each of you to dissect this quote and apply it to your own life. Share with me what you came up with if you feel comfortable. 🙂

Besides this, it was a really great day. I feel much better than I did last night. After talking with some friends, I think I overexerted myself and did not hydrate enough before and after working out yesterday. Between the running, swimming, and sauna, I think I was depleted of energy and electrolytes, which is why I felt so lousy. I had a great night’s sleep and woke up refreshed this morning. Went to the gym on lunch and burned 375 calories running on the treadmill for 35 minutes. Food intake was as follows:

240 calories – thinkThin crunchy peanut butter protein bar
90 calories – 1 small banana
10 calories – Hazelnut coffee w/1 tsp non-dairy creamer
68 calories – 4 hard boiled egg whites (no yolk)
130 calories – 1 medium mango
115 calories – Mixed greens (15 cals) with broccoli (13 cals), 9 grape tomatoes (27 cals), snow peas (17 cals), broccoli carrot stalks (13 cals) and 2 TBSP homemade creamy garlic dressing (30 cals)
70 calories – 1 1/4 cup pineapple
70 calories – 1/2 cup fat free cottage cheese
200 calories – Homemade chicken soup
140 calories – Oatmeal banana dark chocolate chip muffin (with 4 extra dark chocolate chips :))
45 calories – 5 dark chocolate covered acai berries
35 calories – 1 cup unsweetened almond milk with 1.5 tsp unsweetened cocoa powder

Can you tell someone had a sweet tooth today? LOL

Total caloric intake = 1,213 calories (1,575 allowed)

159 days to reach my goal….

Leave a Reply

