Day 24 – Frozen Friday

Wow, today was a day from hell. I woke up to what looked like light snow. No big deal, it’s Chicago. I hit the road at 6:30 a.m., as I had to be at a training for work by 8:15 a.m. Yeah – that definitely did not happen. The roads were HORRIBLE. I did not get to the meeting until 9:20 a.m. 2 hours and 45 minutes to drive 35 miles….on an empty stomach! Needless to say, my morning was not pretty and I was very cranky. Fortunately, when the training was over at 12:00 p.m., we were free to go for the day. My colleagues Sarah and Ewa and I went to Panera and had lunch before hitting the gym. As much as I wanted broccoli cheddar soup, a french baguette and a Sierra turkey sandwich to calm my stress, I went with the more healthy options, as you’ll see below.

When we got to the gym, I was to the point I didn’t even want to work out. After a rough morning, working out was actually the last thing I wanted to do. I’m glad the girls pushed me because after my workout, I felt great! I put on some Rammstein and ran my heart out. I even got up to a 7.0 on the treadmill for 3-4 minutes straight. That is HUGE for me, considering I normally run at a 5.8 average. I’m trying to get faster and feel it getting easier so I’m doing speed intervals and taking baby steps. 🙂 After running for 45 minutes, we went and lifted weights for another 45 minutes. Back, shoulders, biceps. I have a feeling I will be sore tomorrow. 🙂 All in all, I burned 620 calories at the gym.

In addition to the gym, I had swimming lessons tonight. Week 2 and they went great!!! Everyone in my class was complimenting how well I swim which I was very surprised! My teacher even used me as an example as I swam the 20 yards (unbeknownst to me). When I came up, he informed me that he was complimenting me and that I did a great job. Now let me just say..I have NEVER played a sport in my life, and the times I have tried..well..it hasn’t been pretty. I think I have found “my sport” per se. I can’t wait to practice and for next Friday night to come! I may be officially addicted. 🙂 Anyways, MyFitnessPal says I burned 316 calories leisurely swimming for 45 minutes (it’s really and hour – but we don’t swim back and forth for an hour straight).

So here is what I consumed today. I missed the gourmet breakfast that the hotel served, and I was famished by the time I got there so my choices were limited. It was either cheese/cherry danishes, chocolate croissants or small muffins. I opted for the  muffin, which ended up having chocolate chips in it. Oh well. I’m not sure how many calories were in it, but I looked it up on MyFitnessPal and it said 213 so I’m going with that. They also only had 2% milk for my coffee, and I had 3 cups of coffee to try and keep me full/awake so I am guessing I had about a cup of 2% milk. Not the healthiest breakfast, but I needed fuel…FAST…after a 2:45 commute.

213 calories – 1 small chocolate chip muffin
122 calories – 1 cup of 2% milk (for coffee)
80 calories – Panera low fat chicken noodle soup
80 calories – 1 apple from Panera
210 calories – 1/2 Panera smoked turkey sandwich on whole grain
210 calories – Protein bar post workout
100 calories – 1/2 cup brown rice
180 calories – 4 oz broiled salmon w/ 1/2 tsp olive oil, salt, pepper
20 calories – 12 asparagus spears
100 calories – 1 TBSP peanut butter
53 calories – 1 small fuji apple
45 calories – 5 dark chocolate covered acai berries

Total caloric intake = 1,413 calories (2,136 allowed)

155 days to reach my goal…

Leave a Reply

