Day 40 – Sunday, February 10, 2013

Wow, today I did NOT want to get out of bed. The weather was nasty and rainy and it was definitely a day to be lazy. I slept most of the morning and into the afternoon (off and on) because hey, that’s what I like to do on Sundays! Needless to say, it made it VERY difficult to get up and go to the gym. However, when I stepped on the scale and saw 148 (WOO HOO!) I told myself – “Amanda, you have to do this. Even if you only workout for 30 minutes, just get up and go.” A bad workout is better than no workout, right? So I dragged my feet – put on my workout clothes – and ended up running for 35 minutes on the treadmill and doing 30 minutes on the stairmaster. 680 calories burned! Again, we all have those days when you just don’t want to do it. You have to fight your mind and make yourself do it. As I said last week, I promise you will feel better!  

After the gym, I ran home and showered and met Annie for 5:00 mass. I really enjoy going to church and am glad that Annie and I have been going together lately. Lent starts on Wednesday with Ash Wednesday, and I have been contemplating what I want to “give up”. Since I have pretty much given up a lot of the things I enjoy with this new, healthy lifestyle, I decided to take a different approach. What can I do to give back? So for Lent, I am going to do the soup kitchen for the homeless at my church on Saturdays and/or Sundays (I have to look at the schedule). I won’t be able to this upcoming weekend – the first weekend of Lent – because I will be home in St. Louis, but every week thereafter, I will. I’m really looking forward to it! And how funny is this? Tonight’s homily was about volunteering and what we can do as humans to give back! I think it’s a sign! 🙂

I went to the 2013 Chicago Auto Show after church and wow, talk about some awesome cars there! It was open until 10:00 p.m. and pretty much dead so the food vendors were giving away what was left at the end of the night. We got a pretzel and a hot dog. I had a bite of hot dog and a few nibbles of pretzel but wasn’t frettin’ because hey, I burned so many calories yesterday and was pretty hungry all day today! It was a good day and food consumption was as follows:

115 calories – 1 cup of cheerios w/ 1/2 cup almond milk
109 calories – 1 large fuji apple
100 calories – 1 TBSP peanut butter
120 calories – 2 sea salt caramels
170 calories – 1 mini whole wheat bagel w/ 1 oz. brie cheese
10 calories – amino acid energy powder in water
195 calories – 1 scoop of vanilla protein powder (140 cals) w/ 1/4 cup greek yogurt (30 cals) and frozen strawberries (25 cals)
150 calories – chicken and veggie sausage
30 calories – 1.5 oz spring mix w/ 2 TBSP fat free balsamic
120 calories – 24 mini brussel sprouts
110 calories – 5 whole wheat sesame crackers
70 calories – dark chocolate chips and dark chocolate acai berries
100 calories – 100 calorie bag of popcorn

Total caloric intake = 1,399 calories (1,880 allowed)

139 days to reach my goal…

P.S. I know it’s not a weigh-in day today, but I wanted to document 148 because Aunt Flo is hitting town this week and I probably will be up a few pounds on Wednesday (due to bloating). 🙂

Leave a Reply

