Day 66 – It Takes 66 Days to Form a Habit

My friend Ursula recently told me that according to psychology and different studies, it takes 66 days to form a habit. Some articles you read will say less (21 days for instance) while others say more (3-4 months). Well, here I am, day 66, and I would concur that my eating healthy and exercising has, in fact, become habitual. Almost without thought, I make sure to squeeze in gym time almost every day. If I don’t, I make an effort to make up for it the next day. No longer are the days of “Oh I’m lazy and don’t want to go so I’ll go tomorrow”. No matter how lazy I am feeling or how much I don’t want to go, I just go…if that makes sense? haha. It’s crazy, but it feels good knowing that I worked out for the day, even if just for 30 minutes.

My eating, while not perfect, has definitely gotten better so I would say that that has become habitual as well. Before I would just mindlessly eat and put things into my mouth, bad or not. I’d say for the most part I was pretty good, but I was maintaining my weight, not losing. Now that I’m in a routine and a habit has formed to eat 5-6 times per day, small meals..you best believe my body is screaming when I don’t eat on that schedule. 🙂 Just a food for thought as you all look at your habits in life!

Today I went to the gym in the morning and did cardio for 35 minutes and weights for 30 minutes. I did all upper body workouts (shoulders, chest, bicep, tricep). I don’t think I’m really supposed to work all those groups together, but oh well…I did. ha. This next week while I’m on the road for work I’m really going to educate myself on strength training, muscle groups, exercises, techniques, etc. My goal is to start this type of program in the beginning of April so I have a few weeks to look into it. I’m also going to see how I continue to progress with the weight loss…and I might crack down and be more “strict” with my diet to see if I yield better results (i.e. no processed foods, organics only, etc.). Now that I see I’m losing the weight, I feel great. BUT I still have fat…and I don’t want to become “skinny fat”. I want muscle, tone, definition…so in the little that I started to read today, it seems that weight training and clean diets are great ways to accomplish this. So we shall see. Anyways, I got off subject there rambling – but with my morning workout (415 calories burned) and swimming tonight (307 calories burned), I burned 722 calories total for the day. Whoop! And one side note – tonight was my last swimming class in this session! I can’t believe I started 8 weeks ago! So happy I signed up for 8 more weeks and those will start next week. 🙂 Anyways, typed enough – here is what I ate for the day:

115 calories – 1 cup of cheerios w/ 1/2 cup almond milk
90 calories – 1 small banana
55 calories – 1/2 cup 1% milk in coffee
63 calories – 7 oz strawberries
260 calories – 1 can tuna w/ 1 TBSP low fat mayo on mini whole wheat bagel
85 calories – 2 TBSP low fat ranch dip w/ broccoli and carrots
100 calories – Chobani Bite Yogurt Coffee w/Dark Chocolate
180 calories – 1 medium fuji apple w/ 1 TBSP peanut butter
270 calories – 2 tilapia filets grilled w/ 1/2 tsp olive oil, wrapped in 2 corn tortillas
40 calories – 4 oz. mushrooms sauteed in 1/4 tsp olive oil
180 calories – 20 dark chocolate acai berries
100 calories – 100 calorie bag of popcorn
40 calories – 8 dark chocolate chips (major sweet tonight tonight)
100 calories – mini chobani raspberry yogurt

Total caloric intake = 1,678 calories (1,922 allowed)

113 days to reach my goal…

One thought on “Day 66 – It Takes 66 Days to Form a Habit”

  1. Hey – as far as strength training goes… When I did Farell’s Extreme Body Shaping (kickboxing, strength & nutrition) they do bands workouts on strength days they did either upper body or lower body but then with the rotation didnt do that same body part for 4 days. (It went cardio kickboxing, upper body strength, kickboxing, lower body strength, kickboxing, back to upper body). I think it’s a really studied method & works well. So… You can do all your arms at once just give ample recovery time. 🙂

    In better news… I’ve started (for about 2 wks) working in Jillian Michaels Ripped in 30 videos with my running – and I’m finally losing pounds!!! I’m down 12 lbs and 6 inches!! Woohoo! Strength training must be what I need, too.

    Good work Amanda & have a good weekend!

Leave a Reply

