Day 78 – First Day of Spring – WHAT?!

Happy first day of Spring – NOT! Walked outside this morning and it’s 18 degrees. Pffff! What a rip off! I hope warmer weather comes soon! I’m ready to start running outside!

With that being said, I went to the gym with my coworker on lunch. I did 30 minutes on the stairmaster and 20 minutes of upper body weights – lat pull downs, back, and chest press. Today was an “easy” workout day, as I was planning to go again before my facial tonight. Well, that didn’t happen because of the 2 hr parking limit, but I still managed to burn 335 calories in my earlier workout. Good enough!

Still doing good with this “clean eating”. I found some great articles/blogs that I want to share that kind of breaks it down to basic understanding. Very interesting! I did have some dark chocolate chips today, but they are minimally processed and every ingredient is something I know and can pronounce (cocoa, milk, sugar, etc.). I had a chobani greek yogurt bite, too..which is more “processed” I think, but still not as bad as it could be..and I stayed within my calorie limit. Remember, trying to cut out most processed foods (going by 80/20), which is very, very hard..but so far so good! The articles are:

How to Eat Clean – great overview article! http://www.coreperformance.com/knowledge/nutrition/how-to-eat-clean.html

8 Things You Need To Know About Eating Clean – very true and makes you feel a little better. 🙂
http://www.coreperformance.com/daily/one-small-change/8-things-you-need-to-know-about-eating-clean.html

Hope you enjoy them! My food intake for the day was:

203 calories – Blueberry protein pancakes (see recipe below)
64 calories – 1 small grapefruit
51 calories – 3 hardboiled egg whites
75 calories – milk in coffee
80 calories – 3 oz. tilapia w/ 1/4 tsp olive oil, salt, pepper
30 calories – 1 cup of broccoli
80 calories – 20 large black grapes
105 calories – Mediterranean lentil salad (see recipe below)
200 calories – 1 large fuji apple w/ 1 TBSP freshly ground peanut butter
160 calories – 14 raw cashews
80 calories – 3 oz. tilapia w/ 1/4 tsp olive oil, salt, pepper (yes, I ate it twice today)
25 calories – Spinach and arugula salad w/ lemon juice, salt, pepper
43 calories – 6 oz. steamed cauliflower
100 calories – Chobani bites rasberry greek yogurt
80 calories – 16 dark chocolate chips

Total caloric intake = 1,456 calories (1,535 allowed)

101 days to reach my goal…

Blueberry Protein Pancakes Recipe (thank you Cortney Goebel!!!)
Super easy and healthy! I wrap them up and eat them in my car on the way to work!

Makes 1 serving
1 serving is 406 calories so I cut everything in half to make it 203 calories.

1/2 cup of oats (I use 1/4 cup) – 150 cals (75 cals)
1 scoop of protein powder (I use 1/2 scoop) – 140 cals (70 cals)
2 egg whites (I use 1 egg white) – 34 cals (17 cals)
1 TBSP milk, almond milk, water, etc. – varies (I use a dash of almond milk which is nothing and water)
1/2 cup blueberries (I use the entire half cup to make them more fruity) – 41 cals
Sweetener (if needed – I don’t use this)

1. Grind oats in a blender – basically, you want to get them very fine, like flour almost
2. Whisk grinded oats, protein powder, egg white, milk in a bowl – add blueberries
3. Spray a grilled or pan with cooking spray and heat on the stove
4. Spoon/pour mixture onto pan and cook all the way through – until both sides are browned and of pancake consistency

Super easy and healthy! Enjoy! 🙂

Mediterranean Lentil Salad Recipe (www.allreceipes.com)
Not only are lentils super good for you, but they are filling and full of protein! Enjoy this salad warm or cold!

Makes 4 servings
Serving size is 1 cup. 1 cup is 105 calories.

1 cup of dry brown lentils – 280 calories
6 oz. diced carrots – 70 calories
1 small red onion, diced – 29 calories
2 garlic cloves, minced – 8 calories
1 bay leaf – 0 calories
1/2 tsp dried thyme – 0 calories
2 tablespoons of lemon juice – 6 calories
4 medium stalks of diced celery – 24 calories
Salt
Pepper

1. Add lentils, carrots, onion, garlic, bay leaf, and thyme to a pot. Add water – enough to cover everything by 1 inch. Put on the stove and bring to a boil. Once the water starts boiling, bring it down to a simmer for 20-25 minutes. You want the lentils to be tender but not mushy.
2. Drain the contents of the pot and remove bay leaf. Add lemon juice, celery, salt and pepper. (You can also add olive oil, but I did not to watch calories. It’s still quite tasty!) Serve at room temperature or eat cold. I ate it cold and it was crisp and refreshing!

2 thoughts on “Day 78 – First Day of Spring – WHAT?!”

  1. I feel you on the wanting to get outside already but the weather isn’t really cooperating. Hopefully soon enough though!
    Eating clean will get easier the longer you do it. I honestly thing your taste buds change and you start to not like the flavours of processes foods.

Leave a Reply

