Day 7 – The End of Week One

BOOM! Week one is donezo to the unzo! It actually went by pretty fast, all things considered. I know I said that I would wait until Friday morning to weigh-in, but I’m actually going to weigh-in tomorrow. It will help me keep everything straight in my mind and on here. 🙂

Today was my first day back at the office, and I walked out to my car looking like this:

car

 

Uhhh jeeze, thanks Chicago! Needless to say, it took me quite some time to clear that puppy, and I didn’t get into work until 9:30 a.m. I didn’t end up leaving the office until 7:30 p.m. so I skipped the gym and called it a night. I have a little cold anyhow (sore throat turning scratchy, tired, runny nose) so it’s probably better I get sleep and rest so I can bust out 4 hardcore workouts for the rest of this week. 🙂 One thing I want to mention before I tally out here and hit the sac…

A guy I work with is extremely into body building/weight lifting/etc. Today we were talking, and I was expressing my frustration of my carb counts that I get for the day. He said that it’s typically 1 carb for every pound you weigh. That is you daily allowance and if you want to lose, cut back a little (and vice versa to gain). So I said that I get 111 a day, but I get flustered because take a cup of broccoli. It has 4 carbs in it. If I eat 2 cups for dinner, that’s only 50 cals but 8 carbs, which is almost 10% of my daily allowance. When I eat a brown rice or whole grain bread, it takes up a good chunk of my daily allowance. He explained that I should be looking at my net carbs, NOT the total carbs. Net carbs is the carb count minus fiber and any sugar alcohols that might be in the food (i.e. a protein bar may have 17 carbs, but have 6 grams of fiber and 9 sugar alcohols, bringing the “true” carb (net carb) to 2 grams). Does anyone agree/disagree with this and if so, why? I get it, I’m just not sure how I should be calculating these puppys. It makes sense though because if there are carbs in veggies, but veggies are loaded with fiber, it reduces the total carb count….which is why veggies are allowed on the Atkins diet, etc. Just curious to know what others thoughts are, but I’m going to start looking at that so I don’t deprive myself of vegetables just so I don’t go over my carb count for the day. Sheesh!

Anyways, with that said my friends, I am off to bed!

Calories – 1406.5, Goal – 1600 (under)
Fat – 43, Goal – 60.8 (under)
Total Carbs – 128.7, Goal – 111.2 (over)
Net Carbs – 88.9, Goal – 111.2 (under)
Fiber – 31, Goal – 30-38 (on target)
Protein – 145.6, Goal – 152 (under)

2 thoughts on “Day 7 – The End of Week One”

  1. Amanda, for the net carb count (which is what you should be using for your nutritional goals), subtract the fiber, but do not subtract the “sugar alcohols” (as those are just an accounting of the type of carb). Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

